Ether To The Rescue!

2015-09-27 17.19.12

My dear friend Aletheia came down from the Bay Area for my birthday weekend. We’ve known each other really well for a very long time. She’s one of the few people that truly knows me, gets me, and accepts all of my ridiculous quirks. When we’re together, it’s kind of like being kids — we frolic and go on adventures.

I haven’t seen her in years and it was so amazing that she came. She knows I’ve been having a tough year with my Dad passing away and the unfortunate situation with the girl-who-shall-not-be-named. She’s super busy with her own family and company to take care of. That she came down just for me…on my birthday…when I’ve been needing someone that reallyΒ knows me — I can’t even find the words to adequately express how grateful and appreciative I am for her. When I think about it, I get really happy…and then I want to cry because I’m so touched.

I spent my actual birthday with her adventuring in Venice Beach. It was just a beautiful time and she absolutely spoiled me. Every second with her over the weekend was simply fantastic. She gave me the best day I’ve had all year and the best weekend I’ve had all year. Her visit was one of the best gifts I ever received in my life. I’ll never forget it and will try extremely hard to repay her.

It’ll probably wear off because I’ve gotten so used to being miserable and hateful, but Aletheia has made me the happiest I’ve been in months. My heart is genuinely full. When a person does that for you, it’s so hard to put into words.

It’s completely appropriate that Aletheia’s nickname is Ether. InΒ Final Fantasy, ether restores magic. While she’s certainly a magical being on her own, she shared some of that with me and brought some magic to my life.

Leave a Reply

