Back to Life, Back to Reality

I had a wonderful family vacation in Las Vegas. It was great spending time with my parents and Reggie. Noot really enjoyed her first Vegas vacation too. It was just excellent being with my family, not worrying about work, not worrying about money, being unplugged from my computer, and all that good stuff. This was probably the least stressful family vacation we’ve had in a while. It looks like the key to a stress free vacation is gambling. Ha!

Mom and Dad lost a bunch of money on slots. Reggie lost a little. Noot caught the gambling bug a bit. She won $70 on her first night on penny slots. For her, that’s a lot of money. She went up and down the rest of the trip. At the end, she was probably even. I only played video poker (9/6 Jacks or Better) at The Palms. I was surprised that my game was a sharp as it was. I made a few mistakes, but my play was 99% spot on. I played about five hours and won $60. I also got a little over $20 in comps.

My parents racked up a ton of comps. They had over $80 in comps and $60 cash back at The Tropicana. They also won Noot and me a free dinner at Treasure Island. Getting back to the Trop — it’s not that bad. The rooms are old, but they had a nice variety of machines and a 24-hour indoor pool/hot tub. The coffee shop was surprisingly good and the prices were very reasonable. It’s not the nicest place on the strip, but it’s very comfortable.

I really want to take my parents on a nice Vegas vacation. I was able to take my mom on a nice holiday a few years ago. Hopefully this job pans out and stabilizes my finances. It would mean a lot to me to be able to give them a nice holiday. I’d love to put them up in a nice hotel and pay for several fancy dinners. Hopefully I’ll be able to do that soon. Not to be morbid, but I realize that we don’t have a ton of time left together and I’d like to be able to do this for them while everyone is still healthy.

Oh yeah, my Dad has become quite the gambler. It used to be that he’d play a little bit and let my Mom go crazy on slots. I think he spent more than her this time around.

At the end of the trip we got to catch up with P Andy and Mod. Andy brought some excellent wines that we shared in his room at The Wynn. We weren’t able to do too much, since Mod is still 19. We also got to see Rob and Laurene for a bit. It was great seeing them both. Playing video poker with Rob reminded me of old times — we went to Vegas a lot when we lived together.

Since my parents and brother got me a lot of points on my MGM-Mirage card and we all got points on my Club Palms card, I’ll probably be getting some pretty sweet offers in the near future. If (probably when) I get a free room offer, I definitely want to take Noot to a show and the spa.

I still miss that Luxor spa being 24 hours. I also miss the Ellis Island steak special being $5.95. At $7.95, it’s still a pretty good deal.

So it’s back to reality now. First order of business: finding out where the hell all my freelance checks are!

Leave a Reply

