Phew!

Twitter makes it really easy to neglect your blog. I blame the continually declining attention spans of people 35 and under. Good thing Noot doesn’t suffer from this problem.

Anyway, I finished a pretty big project last week. It was fun, stressful, and a learning experience. I liked some of the stuff that I did, but other parts could have been better. Part of it was poor workflow and a general newness to the work. I decided early on to write straight out, without formatting; I would format everything when I was done with the script. This would come back to haunt me. Instead of being able to tweak things the last day, I spent almost all of it formatting. It’s easy to say these things when you’re looking through the retroscope…but if I had to do it over again, I would have formatted from the get go. Once I got used to how things were supposed to look, it wasn’t bad at all.

Noot’s English classes are going well. I can see how she’s improved and so can Ted. Unfortunately, she’s so anxious to improve her reading and writing that she hasn’t noticed the improvement in her speaking and usage. I ordered her a really expensive dictionary to help her out and give her a confidence boost. It’s a little expensive for me now and I have to delay getting my eyes checked and getting contacts again, but I think it will help. The English-Thai dictionaries she has from Thailand are pretty crap — there are a lot of things in them that are just completely wrong. The reviews on this one are good and it sounds like something that will be really useful.

In job news, there are two things that have popped up. There’s an opportunity with a company in LA. I know I could do this job well and there are a few cool people in the company championing my cause. Tomorrow I’m applying for a local job that would be really cool. I’m not sure how interested they’d be in having me, but I believe I could do well there too. I have a friend that’s friends with the head dude there, so maybe some grovelling is in order. I’m not going to get my hopes up about either…simply because I haven’t had any luck finding a full-time job in forever. I hate that I feel that way.

I should be sleeping now, but I have mild heartburn from eating a crappy dinner of high-sodium soup and high-sodium stew. That’s what I get for attempting to clear out the cupboard of crap. On the plus side, it was all low fat. There’s the silver lining!

Leave a Reply

