Interviews

Noot’s interview is just minutes away. She’s nervous. I’m nervous. We both have jittery stomachs. I wasn’t able to eat much today due to nerves. Kicking the morning off with three cups of coffee probably wasn’t my best idea. Of course, this morning’s mini-crisis didn’t help.

Speaking of which, the passport photo situation was solved. Mod, my friend Andy’s girlfriend, is a uni student in Bangkok. We chat on Y! quite a bit. I emailed my passport photo to her, Noot went to an Internet cafe, Mod let Noot log into her email (talking her through the process), and the problem was solved. I feel very lucky that Mod is friends with Noot and me.

I had a phone interview today too. It was with a big Internet company that hosts a lot of videos and has the words “Tube” and “You” in its name. The interview went well and I’m pretty sure I rocked the list of test items they sent to me. I don’t want to jinx it, but I’m hoping for this one. It wouldn’t be the most interesting job I ever had, but Google money and benefits sound awfully appealing.

Most of my items from today’s list are completed. I just have to do a little bit of writing and pack. The little trip I’m going on is getting pretty interesting. I’m grateful for the work and I’m really looking forward to it, but I want to laugh at how the whole thing is being managed. I want to step up, argue, and do more, but it’s not my place to say anything (plus I might offend someone) and I’m getting paid the same either way. It seems odd to me that people in management positions can’t see the larger picture and fret over the small things.

Leave a Reply

