H2O Ignorance

Admission: I just learned what waterboarding was. I’ve heard the word lots (especially lately) and I knew it was a form of torture. However, I had no idea what the precise methods were. After reading about on Wikipedia, I’m shocked. I absolutely cannot believe that this is something my government practices. It’s cruel and crazy and inhumane. I’m having a huge problem believing that the American government is doing this to people. I also feel naive and ignorant. It’s just mind blowing to me. Home of brave? Torture is for fucking cowards. Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to be free? Why?!? So you can torture the crap out of them?

6 thoughts on “H2O Ignorance

  1. Hrm. I thought you were more cynical.

    Yeah, it is awful. But I’m well past being surprised. Ever read A People’s History of the United States?

  2. Not in that sense, just like, I think many people of liberal bent who stay informed of events have a fair amount of cynicism toward the powers that be by this point.

    Or maybe pessimism is a better word. I don’t just expect our government to do what’s right in a given situation, that’s for sure.

  3. The whole things reminds me of “The Pipe” in Tank Girl. That is to say, it seemed like fiction.

    I’m sure if you poll 100 people, as Family Feud does, the #1 answer to “What’s the worst way to die?” would be drowning/suffocating.

  4. Ben — That’s people hating on the players. I believe in the game. I believe that the system can work. Things like this shouldn’t be happening if the system’s checks and balances are working. There’s too much executive power right now and nobody is doing anything about it.

    Justin — This means that people on Family Feud are stupid. If a man does not pick “getting my penis chopped off and slowly dying from blood loss” then he is a liar or an idiot.

Leave a Reply

