Feels Like Home (Again)

So I’m back paying the lady a visit. Things are mostly going well. There were a few bumps in the road, but we always manage to talk things out (after she gives me the angry silent treatment for several hours). Things have been totally smooth the last few days and we’ve really been enjoying each other’s company. We’re both thinking about the future, but being quite cautious as well. It’ll take a lot of work on both our parts, but with some luck it’ll all work out.

My friend Andy was in town. I wasn’t expecting that at all. In some ways it was good because I really like him and enjoy hanging out with him. In other ways it was bad because he’s a pretty naughty boy and I wasn’t sure how my friends would react to that.

I’m really happy Rannie and Kit came. There are some parts of town that they didn’t enjoy and I totally understand that, but I think they had some good fun overall. There are things I wish they could’ve experienced like eating Thai style on the floor of an apartment and really getting to know a local (both native and expat), but I’m mostly happy they got to spend some time with the lady. This wasn’t an ideal vacation for either of them, but it meant so much to me that people I’m really close with in America got to meet her.

Our other mutual friend seems like he’s having a blast. It’s actually lots of fun just watching him adventure. He’s handsome, charming, and actually interested in getting to know a bit about people. They love him out here.

This is only the second time I’ve been online. I’m staying at a much cheaper place than usual. It’s totally find and nice, but there’s no Internet connection in my room.

The really hard part is going to be leaving again. I know this is a long-term thing with her and we both have to try hard, but it really hurts being apart–way more than I wanted it to or thought it would. This whole thing just kind of happened and I wasn’t prepared for it at all. That said, it’s been one of the most treasured experiences of my life and I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way.

Leave a Reply

