If I May Be Serious for a Moment

The title is pretty much for Justin’s amusement.

Seriously though…I’ve been back for three weeks and it pretty much sucks. I’ve been keeping busy getting rid of inventory on eBay (I can’t move with ALL those games and movies), doing a bit of writing, and uploading pictures. The last activity is being done partially to fill up the day and partially because it depresses me to read this blog and see my Flickr page–well, at least the parts that remind me of how much fun I had in Thailand.

There are a few opportunities out there for me, but none of them are solidifying fast enough. I’d like to move soon, but I’m not sure how realistic that is. The annoying part is that I have more tangible offers for some hosting stuff, but that would require me to stay for sure. On one hand, there’s some place I’d really rather be. On the other hand, I don’t know how much longer I could host. I mean, it was dumb luck (that I made for myself) that it happened in the first place, plus I’m not getting any younger and I’d have maybe two years left I could do that type of work.

Bleh. I still want to move.

Chappy said, “you know everyone in the industry – have you been talking to people explaining what you’re looking for?” Sure, I know a lot of people, but that doesn’t mean any of ’em would give me a job that let’s me work from another country.

I’m getting a little discouraged. I really wanted that opportunity with Todd to pan out. I haven’t heard from him at all since I’ve been back. That’s disappointing.

It’s weird. I ended up at GameSpy because the timing was right and it was convenient. I went after the Y! show because it meant spending more time with b.b and helping her get back in the swing of things. In both cases, I wouldn’t have been terribly disappointed if they didn’t pan out. Now I want something more than I’ve wanted anything in years (at least ten) and I’m absolutely terrified about making the wrong decision and not getting it to happen. I’ve been really fortunate to have things work out for me in the end (professionally anyway), but I’m scared that this will be the first time in a long time that it doesn’t work out.

One thought on “If I May Be Serious for a Moment

  1. I’m sure something will surface for you, bro. It may not be exactly what you’re waiting for, but that doesn’t mean it won’t be the right opportunity.

    By the way, what’s your Ebay ID? Besides, I thought you’d let us buddies know what you want to get rid of before it became Ebay-ized.

Leave a Reply

