The Year in Review, Part One

Ah, the year is almost over…. Naturally, this is the perfect time to reflect on everything that happened. It was rocky year on some fronts, but overall I think I came out ahead. Let’s see if I’m right. I’ll start by examining my Q1 activity (it’ll keep the investors happy, you see).

January — Let’s see…. This month I was getting used to not having a really special someone in my life while learning how to better deal with someone that randomly makes cameos in it. I was also incredibly sick of my job. My daughter made a major contribution to my career by dragging me to the MAC counter at Macy’s. I went on an adventure. I was supposed to go to Vietnam, but I met this cool German guy in Bangkok and immediately developed a crush on his sister (yes, I admit that now). So I went to Southeast Asia and latched onto the first white girl I ran into.

February — This was a particularly interesting month. I was incredibly sick of my job. Things started off in Vegas where I had what turned out to be a life-changing chat. It was basically an overdue follow up to a chat I had in August and eventually it lead to what I’m doing for a living today. That same trip I also let down one of the most important people in my life…and it wouldn’t be the last time this year.

The girl I wasn’t dating suddenly broke up with me. I wasn’t expecting it…it hit me really hard and stayed with me for a long time. I met a really hot Japanese MILF. In retrospect, I think that’s where my recent attraction to Japanese girls came from. I saw my ex-wife twice and haven’t seen her since. I found an excellent apartment in my favorite neighborhood. I also purchased a vacuum cleaner. It wasn’t a Dyson. That might have been the ninth-biggest mistake I made all year.

March — Things got really interesting here! I was incredibly sick of my job, but this month the final two straws broke the camel’s back. First, I had this incredibly huge story that was rinsed of its humor and personality. It was also given a third part that was just incredibly vapid. B.B and I did an interview that got us in a ton of trouble. This one exec from a huge company was being a dick and freaked out about the way we interviewed him. He threw a little bitch tantrum and allegedly banned us from campus. After the dust settled, b.b and I felt we did absolutely nothing wrong. Of course nobody from work backed me up on that. So in addition to working for a place that was dying creatively, hadn’t given me raise in over two years (but found several creative excuses), and thrice altered my work for dubious reasons, I came to the realization that our interests were incongruous. (I’m a little slow sometimes.)

Let’s see. I also had my first blackout-drunk evening of the year, which was mostly caused by a dramatic reaction I had to seeing someone for the first time since she broke up with me. It wasn’t her fault at all. I just couldn’t handle it…and woke up in my old apartment in someone else’s room. (Kat didn’t know I moved. Great story though!) Oh, I also went to a trance club with a sound designer from Konami. Watching a sound guy dance is pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

